Thursday 26 June 2008

Kalyanji Anandji: Purab Aur Pachhim (1971)

Purab Aur Pachhim

Well whaddya know... upload no. 100! So a treat this time, to celebrate.

Apparently, this one's the hen's teeth. There's a regular (ie. single album) version of 'Purab Aur Pachhim' that's fairly easy to come by... this however is the 2xLP version; extremely hard to find. Containing the songs (obviously) but also much of the background music, as well as loads of dialogue. Making it... well, not necessarily far superior as the songs are what we're usually after anyway, but arguably a bit more interesting.

'Purab Aur Pachhim' [review] [2] means 'East and West', the film dealing with the attempt (and ultimately, failure) to corrupt time-honoured Indian ideals with contemporary Western values. (Or as one description would have it: "whisky, smoking & sex versus good family life".) Complementing this, Kalyanji Anandji's score is thus mostly based around traditional Hindi song, interspersed with the odd wild, depraved, western sounding moment. Guess which bits I prefer...?

The highlights then, for me: 'Love Me' and 'Fight Music', featuring Usha Iyer (aka Uthup) in untamed garage mode ; the sweet and hummable 'Raghupati Raghav Raja Ram' (the YouTube clip is hilarious - in fact, scenes such as all the ones I'm linking to, in addition to the presence of the lovely Saira Banu does actually make 'Purab Aur Pachhim' rather watchable, despite the plot's inherent ho-humness. Do you still make films like this in Bollywood?); 'Twinkle Twinkle Little Star', which really is east meets west; and 'Purva Suhani Aai Re', the best of the traditional ones, massively percussive and very infectious.

A word about the track listing: On the vinyl, the whole thing is presented as four continuous, side-long tracks, with only the main song titles given... I suspect they wished to make the 2xLP set into a compressed, aural version of the film. I on the other hand, decided I wanted to isolate the songs (5-10 minutes at a time of Hindi dialogue is, for obvious reasons, not very interesting), therefore I've split it into multiple tracks, tagging a lot of them as 'Dialogue' or 'Dialogue & Background Music'. Nothing's left out though; if you want to hear it as it's presented on the record, simply play them with no gaps between. Also, 'Fight Music' (track 17; the one piece of background music I've isolated) is a title made up by me. And if anyone knows the title of track 12, please inform.


Track listing:
1. Intro
2. Title Music
3. Dialogue & Background Music
4. Mahendra Kapoor, Brij Bushhan, Shyama Chittar & Chorus: Om Jai Jagdish Hai
5. Dialogue
6. Mahendra Kapoor & Chorus: Dulhan Chali
7. Dialogue & Background Music
8. Usha Iyer: Love Me
9. Dialogue & Background Music
10. Mahendra Kapoor & Chorus: Hare Rama Hare Krishna
11. Dialogue & Background Music
12. Mahendra Kapoor: Untitled
13. Mahendra Kapoor & Chorus: Bharat Ka Rehnewala Hoon
14. Dialogue
15. Mahendra Kapoor & Chorus: Raghupati Raghav Raja Ram
16. Dialogue & Background Music
17. Fight Music
18. Dialogue & Background Music
19. Mukesh: Koi Jab Tumhara Hriday Tod De
20. Dialogue & Background Music
21. Lata Mangeshkar, Mahendra Kapoor & Chorus: Purva Suhani Aai Re
22. Dialogue & Background Music
23. Asha Bhosle, Mahendra Kapoor & Chorus: Twinkle Twinkle Little Star
24. Dialogue & Background Music
25. Mahendra Kapoor, Brij Bushhan, Shyama Chittar & Chorus: Om Jai Jagdish Hare


  1. DL in two parts this time, as some hosts have issues with files exceeding 100Mbs.
    Pt. 1:
    Pt. 2:

  2. congrats on the 100th post PC
    looking forward to this

    will def not be joining facebook am far too ugly :)

  3. Song # 12 is intro to
    "Bharat Ka Rehnewala Hoon"

    Try to get translation of this song. You will be very surprised.

  4. 100 posts and I've loved every one, even when you didn't love the music. Thanks for your generosity.

  5. Thanks my friend. U have a new reader here!!! ^^

  6. A hearty congratulations on your 100th post PC, cheers! Makes me a little sad because I'll miss you when you are done.

    Track 12 has been identified above but I thought I'd let you know that I've seen 2 alternate titles for Bharat Ka Rehnewala Hoon:
    Hai Preet Jahan Ki Reet Sada and
    Jab Zero Diya Mere Bharat Ne

  7. BTW cd versions of that song are usually around 5:55 long, with track 12's intro leading into track 13, so what you have there is the separate parts of that song on 12 & 13 :)

  8. Congratulations on the 100th. It has been a great journey. :)

  9. Great PC. Congrats on the milestone. Keep going (and take us along).

    Thanks for everything.


  10. Shabash!!! Congrats, and when you are done with this box, I am sure there may be another...

    I would think that after 2000 years of transcendental theorem on the subcontinent that they would have resolved the whisky, smoking & sex versus good family life so that it's whisky, smoking, sex & good family life eons ago!

  11. congrats and thanks! Here's to 100 more!

  12. Congrats PC!! Thank you for the bounty, it's been such a pleasure!

  13. thank you so much for all your posts, i've been visiting for some time and not commenting, i apologize. happy hundredth!

  14. Happy centuversary, mate!

    Thanks for all the great music you have shared till now.

    Keep up the good work! It's very appreciated.

  15. Thank you Pc, on your 100th post.

  16. Thanks everyone for the well wishes :-)

    And re. the (previously) unidentified track 12 - thanks for the update, you're right of course... what confused me was that it and track 13 are on different sides of the vinyl.

    PC x

  17. Could you please upload it in rapidshare as now it allows files upto 200 mb. Not able to download from the present links due to problem in my net connection

  18. To much great your job soo
    compartir es vivir¡¡
    thanks, gracias