Monday 25 January 2016

Shankar Jaikishan: Jab Pyar Kisise Hota Hai (1961)

Jab Pyar Kisise Hota Hai

More of the same. And much like the previous post, 'Jab Pyar Kisise Hota Hai' is a charmer. Bridging the old world nostalgia of the 1950s and earlier with the modern rock and jazz infused sounds of the new decade, Shankar Jaikishan's score contains infectious melodies, hooks and beats from start to finish. It's difficult to highlight any particular tracks on this one; 'Teri Zulfonse Judai To' and 'Uff Umma' are current favourites, along with the percussive 'Tum Jaise Bigade Babu', sadly missing the film clip's groovy East vs. West dance-off. And the 'Title Music', essentially an instrumental version of the album's title track, is very hard to resist.

Track listing:
1. Title Music
2. Lata Mangeshkar: Jab Pyar Kisi Se Hota Hai
3. Mohd. Rafi & Lata Mangeshkar: Teri Zulfonse Judai To
4. Mohd. Rafi & Lata Mangeshkar: Sau Saal Pahle
5. Mohd. Rafi & Lata Mangeshkar: Uff Umma
6. Mohd. Rafi: Jab Pyar Kisi Se Hota Hai
7. Lata Mangeshkar: Nazar Mere Dil Ke Par
8. Lata Mangeshkar: Tum Jaise Bigade Babu
9. Mohd. Rafi: Mohabbat Isko Kahte Hain