Tuesday 15 May 2007

Laxmikant Pyarelal: Krodhi (1980)


Next up, a couple of Laxmikant Pyarelal scores that, to be honest, aren't that interesting. (What, again?) Well, 'Krodhi' is moderately OK I suppose; I'm at least appreciating the album slightly more now than I initially did. Still lots of things I don't like about it, but one I do: The mini epic 'Woh Masiha Aaya Hai' has a fair bit of good stuff contained within its 10 minutes - an atmospheric intro, melodramatic breaks, nice orchestrations, a cool beat, loads of Morricone-isms - so worth a listen at least.

Elsewhere there's the odd nice detail, and 'Ladki Walo' is catchy in its way, but on the whole this is nothing special.

Track listing:
1. Lata Mangeshkar & Suresh Wadkar: Chal Chameli Bagh
2. Asha Bhosle & Chorus: Phoolmati Ka Gajra
3. Manna Dey & Chorus: Krodh Lobh Maya Men
4. Lata Mangeshkar & Chorus: Woh Masiha Aaya Hai
5. Asha Bhosle, Kishore Kumar & Chorus: Ladki Walo


  1. Another amazing vinyl rip. Thanks a bunch. I really enjoyed listening to the vinyl version PC. :D

  2. thanks alot mate...wow what sound quality... I really like the chal chameli bagh main i did not know it was recorded in stereo I had a mono version of this song....Lata sounds angelic top from...

  3. Great share.

    Thanks again.


  4. Could you please re-upload the album?

  5. man, PC, who ever you are! You are great! I saw this movie and was moved by it. Fantastic movie. I was especially moved by the Mannadey song. Great treat, and was trying to find it desparately. Thanks to you now, I have it! Keep up the good work.