Monday 15 February 2016

Salil Chowdury: Annadata (1972)


I posted a shortened EP release of 'Annadata' [review] way back in 2007 and liked it enough to want to hear more. It took me a while to find the full length version; it was however worth waiting for.

The early 1970s was obviously a time of much innovation and experimentation in Indian film music, yet Salil Chowdhury belonged to an older school; of simple melodies, elegantly arranged. The pretty 'Raton Ke Saye', the cheerful 'Champavati Aja' and the joyous 'Guzar Jaye Din' combine classic songwriting with a warm and unaffected sound. Without the sonic gymnistics of Chowdhury’s colleagues they still seem modern; in a strange but very appealing way they remind me of Western easy pop and soft rock of the same period. The smooth-flowing, meditative (almost trippy) 'Yahan Ab Kya Rahna' is another understated gem. This really is a lovely and highly recommended soundtrack.

Track listing:
1. Lata Mangeshkar: Raton Ke Saye
2. Kishore Kumar: Guzar Jaye Din
3. Mukesh: Nayan Hamare
4. Music
5. Title Music
6. Lata Mangeshkar: Nis Din Nis Din
7. Manna Dey, Sabita Choudhury & Chorus: Yahan Ab Kya Rahna
8. Kishore Kumar, Sabita Choudhury & Chorus: Champavati Aja


  1. Thanks PC.. Excited to hear Chapavati song of vinyl quality.. Indeed an album for music lovers

  2. this is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful Salil Chowdhury soundtracks. every song is a gem. beautiful blends of western harmony and indian tunes..