Monday 3 November 2008

Rahul Dev Burman: Chandi Sona (1976)

Chandi Sona

Another cool Burman score; 'Chandi Sona' has the added bonus (?) of being quite hard to find. Or so I'm told.

Best track is 'Dance Music', a quintessential - and great - 70s RD funk instrumental. Next best is 'Uljhan Hazaar Koi Dale', with its long, evocative intro, amazing groove and exotically pyschedelic details. Third best is a toss-up between the lovely 'Socha Tha Main Ne' and the Middle Eastern sounding 'Aap Sa Koi Haseen'. Fifth best is... oh, stop it.

You're getting the picture, yeah?

Just download it.

Track listing:
1. Kishore Kumar & Asha Bhosle: Aap Sa Koi Haseen
2. Kishore Kumar & Asha Bhosle: Socha Tha Main Ne
3. Mohd. Rafi, Manna Dey & Chorus: Ek Shokh Haseena Se
4. Mukesh: Tujhe Bhool Ke (3 Parts)
5. Kishore Kumar, Asha Bhosle & Manna Dey: Uljhan Hazaar Koi Dale
6. Dance Music


  1. Thank you. Your efforts are appreciated as usual. :)

  2. My god, tell me that lead actor Sanjay Khan doesn't look like Robert Wagner as he would have appeared at that time.

  3. Thanks PC. You are right. Its a bit hard-to-come-by album.


  4. Got this one for the Dance Music, which I didn't have. Turns out it's the same piece featured in the "Bollywood Funk" album, which was an amazing compilation. And wow, I would've ranked the tracks in the same order... scary! Thanks, PC.

    litlgrey, wow. You know, I always wondered what other actor Sanjay Khan reminded me of... and I can definitely see a little Robert Wagner there, especially in the LP cover.

  5. Wow... about Uljhan - that bass rhythm thing going on in the beginning psychedelic part is Roger Waters, I believe - "sampled" from Pink Floyd's Echoes. Makes me wonder how much of that collage comes from different non-original sources - and yet it sill comes off as completely original in it's own right...

  6. Excellent! Thank you PC ! :-)

  7. Hi PC!
    Any Rajesh Roshan score on way?
    Pardon me for my curiosity!

  8. Only have a few EPs by him.
    PC x

  9. cool collection!
    Can´t see the links...I presume that it is below in brief but is censored somehow.
    Can you help? I really would like to
    have this powerful music!

  10. The link is ALWAYS in the first comment.

    In this case,